Academicians Elected in 2016.

Each year, the National Academy welcomes new National Academicians (NAs) who are nominated and vetted by current members, a tradition dating back to our founding in 1825. The NAs serve as ambassadors, furthering the mission “to promote the fine arts in America through instruction and exhibition.” They show work at our museum, teach in our school, and contribute to a permanent collection of over 7,700 works—one of the country’s most significant holdings of American art and architecture. Read the full Press Release

It is our pleasure to welcome the following new members:

Shigeru Ban, Architecture
Judith Bernstein, Visual Arts
Tom Burckhardt, Visual Arts
Jackie Ferrara, Visual Arts
Louise Fishman, Visual Arts
Graham Gund, Architecture
Rick Joy, Architecture
Tom Kundig, Architecture
Yoko Ono, Visual Arts
Catherine Opie, Visual Arts
Mónica Ponce de León, Architecture
Dread Scott, Visual Arts
Arlene Shechet, Visual Arts
Peter Shelton, Visual Arts
Ed Smith, Visual Arts
Ned Smyth, Visual Arts
Gary Stephan, Visual Arts
Mickalene Thomas, Visual Arts
Leslie Wayne, Visual Arts
Jack Whitten, Visual Arts